Thoughts, ideas & dreams…

I’m one of those people that get’s a new idea every couple of days that completely overtakes me and I get so excited but within a few weeks that energy is gone. It’s pretty annoying. So when I have an idea that I’m excited about I have to be very careful not to dive too deep until I know for sure that it’s something for real and not a fuzzy, shiny dream idea that’s fun to think about. I’m complicated.

But regardless of my origami-style thought patterns, I feel something different this time. This feels real, tangible, exciting… and possible. I know this is the real deal since fear has started to creep in, trying to sabotage my inspiration. But that’s great! Because if I didn’t care deeply about this, I wouldn’t have thought to see any other sides to my idea. The scary parts. The uncertainty. All of which equates in my mind as an adventure.

I am currently getting certified as a prenatal heath coach. I would love to walk with women through their journey’s to help keep them low risk for home births, birth centers or even hospital births. The ball is rolling here. I only have 4 more weeks to go until I take the certification exam. Woo!

But stage 2 is where my head is at now. I would really enjoy being a birth/midwife assistant. I’m not interested in being a full-blown, midwife. I just want to help. Be a second pair of hands to help the midwife, to hold the mothers hand while she pushes, to encourage, etc. Ever since I put my stethoscope away when Hazel was born, I knew I would one day have a reason to use it again. It has always been such a part of who I am to care for people that needed emotional or medical attention. I want a reason to pick up my stethoscope again. I want to help women birth with confidence through education and empowerment (health coaching). And I also want to be that second pair of hands for a midwife who needs me. (Birth assistant).

This feels real to me. It is real. And I want it so bad. But I have to remember it takes small steps, not giant leaps. I have to be patient. But I want to JUMP.

Leave a Reply

